This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Morocco

Morocco is made up of 16 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Morocco. Information on all primary administrative regions in Morocco.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Morocco alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Morocco

There are 16 regions in Morocco in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Morocco
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Chaouia-Ouardigha Chaouia-Ouardigha1.1,893,950Settat Settat119,082
Doukkala-Abda Doukkala-Abda2.2,183,090Safi Safi288,163
Fes-Boulemane Région de Fès-Boulemane3.1,808,295Fes Fes964,891
Gharb-Chrarda-Beni Hssen Gharb-Chrarda-Beni Hssen4.1,904,112Kenitra Kenitra366,570
Grand Casablanca Région du Grand Casablanca5.3,679,839Casablanca Casablanca3,144,909
Guelmim-Es Smara Guelmim-Es Semara6.501,921Guelmim Guelmim98,229
Laayoune-Boujdour-Sakia El Hamra Laâyoune-Boujdour-Sakia El Hamra7.256,152--
Marrakech-Tensift-Al Haouz Marrakech-Tensift-Al Haouz8.3,576,673Marrakesh Marrakesh839,296
Meknes-Tafilalet Région de Meknès-Tafilalet9.2,164,141Meknes Meknès545,705
Oriental Oriental Region10.1,918,094Oujda Oujda405,253
Oued ed Dahab-Lagouira Oued ed Dahab-Lagouira11.73,067--
Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Région de Rabat-Salé-Zemmour-Zaër12.2,676,754Rabat Rabat1,655,753
Souss-Massa-Draa Région de Souss-Massa-Drâa13.3,601,917Agadir Agadir698,310
Tadla-Azilal Tadla-Azilal14.1,607,506Beni Mellal Beni Mellal166,399
Tanger-Tetouan Région de Tanger-Tétouan15.3,157,075Tangier Tangier688,356
Taza-Al Hoceima-Taounate Taza-Al Hoceima-Taounate16.1,807,036Al Hoceima Al Hoceïma395,644