This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Morocco

Morocco is made up of 16 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Morocco. Information on all primary administrative regions in Morocco.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Morocco alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Morocco

There are 16 regions in Morocco in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Morocco
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Laayoune-Boujdour-Sakia El Hamra Laâyoune-Boujdour-Sakia El Hamra1.256,152--
Oued ed Dahab-Lagouira Oued ed Dahab-Lagouira2.73,067--
Souss-Massa-Draa Région de Souss-Massa-Drâa3.3,601,917Agadir Agadir698,310
Taza-Al Hoceima-Taounate Taza-Al Hoceima-Taounate4.1,807,036Al Hoceima Al Hoceïma395,644
Tadla-Azilal Tadla-Azilal5.1,607,506Beni Mellal Beni Mellal166,399
Grand Casablanca Région du Grand Casablanca6.3,679,839Casablanca Casablanca3,144,909
Fes-Boulemane Région de Fès-Boulemane7.1,808,295Fes Fes964,891
Guelmim-Es Smara Guelmim-Es Semara8.501,921Guelmim Guelmim98,229
Gharb-Chrarda-Beni Hssen Gharb-Chrarda-Beni Hssen9.1,904,112Kenitra Kenitra366,570
Marrakech-Tensift-Al Haouz Marrakech-Tensift-Al Haouz10.3,576,673Marrakesh Marrakesh839,296
Meknes-Tafilalet Région de Meknès-Tafilalet11.2,164,141Meknes Meknès545,705
Oriental Oriental Region12.1,918,094Oujda Oujda405,253
Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Région de Rabat-Salé-Zemmour-Zaër13.2,676,754Rabat Rabat1,655,753
Doukkala-Abda Doukkala-Abda14.2,183,090Safi Safi288,163
Chaouia-Ouardigha Chaouia-Ouardigha15.1,893,950Settat Settat119,082
Tanger-Tetouan Région de Tanger-Tétouan16.3,157,075Tangier Tangier688,356